1. Constantin Caratheodory Prize

The Constantin Caratheodory Prize of the International Society of Global Optimization is awarded bi-annually to an individual (or a group) for fundamental contributions to theory, algorithms, and applications of global optimization. The Prize named after mathematician Constantin Caratheodory is awarded for outstanding work that reflects contributions that have stood the test of time. The criteria include scientific excellence, innovation, significance, depth, and impact. The winner will receive an award of $2,000, and a certificate. The Constantin Caratheodory Prize was established by the International Society of Global Optimization in 2011, and was first awarded at the Second World Congress on Global Optimization, held in Chania, Greece during July 3-7, 2011.

Prize Committe Members

  • Panos M. Pardalos (Univesrity of Florida)
  • Christodoulos A. Floudas (Priceton University)
  • David Y. Gao (University of Ballarat, Australia)
  • Shu Cherng Fang (North Carolina State Univerisity, USA)
  • Shouyang Wang (Graduate School of the Chinese Academy of Science, China)

Prize Award Date

Beginning in 2013, the award will be presented bi-annually at the Society’s official meeting: World Congress of Global Optimization.


  • 2011 Award (Sponsored by University of Florida)

Professor Hoang Tuy , Institute of Mathematics of the Vietnamese Academy of Science and Technology,

  • 2013 Award (Sponsored by Anhui University of Science and Technology)

Professor Panos Pardalos,  University of Florida, USA

  • 2015 Award:

Christodoulos A. Floudas  of the University of Texas A&M,


Ignacio E. Grossmann of Carnegie Mellon University,

Nikolaos Sahinidis from Carnegie Mellon University,


2.  iSoGO Young Researchers Award (iYRA)
The Young Researcher Prize of the International Society of Global Optimization is   granted  to researchers demonstrating outstanding research performance.  The award aims to inspire early stage researchers  (received their PhD degrees within five years) to incorporate theory, algorithms, and applications of global optimization into their PhD thesis and research.
The Award is granted biannually at the WCGO  where the recipients will present their work.The Award consists of a Certificate and a part of the award will be monetary in the form of a travel and accommodation grant for attending the World Congress of Global Optimization. All nominations received will be considered by, and voted upon, by the iSoGO Prize Committee.

The first iSoGO Young Researcher Award is granted to Dr. Vittorio Latorre from Sapienza University of Rome, in recognition his excellent work on application of the canonical duality theory for solving challenging problems in neural network optimization and affine quasi-variational inequalities (jointly with Simone Sagratella).



3. iSoGO  Student Paper Award (iSPA)

The iSoGO Student Paper Prizes are awarded biannually to the student author(s) of the most outstanding paper(s) submitted to the WCGO. This award is based solely on the merit and content of the student’s contribution to the submitted paper. The purpose of the Student Paper Prizes is to recognize outstanding scholarship by students in global optimization.

Eligibility is restricted to students in good standing who do not yet hold the degree of PhD before the WCGO.   Papers entered in the competition must be presented at the WCGO. Each recipient of the iSoGO Student Paper Prize shall receive a certificate and reimbursement of up to $500 toward travel expenses for attending WCGO.

  • 2013 Award (Sponsored by   Collaborative Research Network (CRN) grant from  Australian Government)

The  iSoGO 2013 Student Paper Prize is given to Mr Yi Chen from University of Ballarat for his paper entitled “Global Solutions to Large-Scale Spherical Constrained Quadratic Minimization via Canonical Dual Approach”